No mess litter box

If you’re a cat owner and lover like me, you can’t do without one of the basic necessities for your feline friend.  I tried the normal litter boxes that are sold at pet stores and mass merchandisers, and even used the kind that have a removable cover and higher sides, but my cats have a bad habit of kicking their litter OUT of the litter box when they are finished doing their business…and none of the usual options did me any good.  I got so frustrated with constantly feeling litter under my feet when I walked that I went in search of a better option.  Thankfully, I didn’t have to look hard or long before my mother-in-law sent me a very helpful article with a picture of a litter box that I knew would solve my problem.

What’s more, it cost me less to buy and make these two litter boxes than it would have cost to buy a normal litter box.  I was able to get 2 of these 18-gallon Sterilite plastic storage tubs at Walmart, as well as a utility knife, for less than $15.  Using a stencil, I cut out a hole in the lid of each box for the cats to get in and out.  Then I filled the boxes with pine pellets (we get a 40-lb bag at Tractor Supply Company for $5 each) and put the lids in place.  The cats quickly took a liking to their new litter boxes and the messes on my floor were history!

Inside the litter box, with pine pellets

Inside the litter box, with pine pellets

The litter box, with a hole cut in the lid for entry and exit

The litter box, with a hole cut in the lid for entry and exit

1 Comment

Filed under Pets

One response to “No mess litter box

Leave a Reply

