Almond Milk

I made my first batch of Almond Milk!

Ingredients:  Water, vanilla, cinnamon, honey, almonds

Ingredients: Water, vanilla, cinnamon, honey, almonds

I’m very pleased with myself – it was easier than I thought once I worked out a system. Here’s what I did:
Soak 9 oz of raw, organic almonds in water (approximately 2-3 cups) for at least 24 hours.
Drain and rinse almonds.

Blend almonds with 2 cups of water (preferably filtered), 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 2 tbsp of honey.

Blend well (puree setting seemed to work best). Add 2 more cups of water…no need to blend again. Strain almond milk from mixture….like so:

Straining the milk

Straining the milk

It will have little pieces of almonds in it. I used a metal strainer and some paper towels since I didn’t have any cheesecloth…and put the strainer over the opening of my storage container, the paper towel lining the strainer. Then I poured the almond milk mixture into the paper towel and gently helped it along as it filtered into the storage container. I ended up with 3.5 cups of almond milk! I’ve heard it will only keep for a few days in your fridge. It’s really good but I might try it without the cinnamon next time.

3.5 cups of almond milk!

3.5 cups of almond milk!

(The remaining almond pieces can be used as almond flour, or so I’ve heard. Not quite sure how it works. I’m going to try blending them up again to see if I can get more milk out of them.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten-Free Recipes

Leave a Reply

