Castile Liquid Soap

After doing some quick calculations, I’ve determined that I’ll be able to save my family a ton of money by making my own liquid soap with bars of Castile soap. Here are the numbers:

64 oz = 1/2 gallon
128 oz = 1 gallon
192 oz = 1.5 gallons

A 64 oz bottle of Equate’s liquid hand soap is $3.97 at Walmart.
A 3 pack of 4 oz Kirk’s Original Coco Castile soap bars is $3.28 at Walmart.

>2 bars make 1 gallon of liquid soap (if I loosely follow THIS recipe.  I say “loosely” because I’m going to try it without the glycerin, since the soap bars I bought already have vegetable glycerin as an ingredient).<

This means that each 3 pack makes me 1.5 gallons, whereas the Equate liquid soap refill bottle is only 1/2 gallon for $0.69 MORE!

Not only will I be using the soap for hand washing, but I will also be adding it to my new experimental shampoo recipe.

(The ingredients of Kirk’s Original Coco Castile Soap are:
Coconut Soap, Water, Vegetable Glycerin, Coconut Oil, Natural Fragrance.  It says right on the label:  Natural, Hypoallergenic Skin Care with No Animal By-Products or Synthetic Detergents.  I am SO excited!)

2 Comments

Filed under Household

2 responses to “Castile Liquid Soap

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say,
    I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still
    new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for newbie
    blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

