Redfish Recipe

Our landlord went fishing in Louisiana and brought back a ton of redfish fillets. He generously gave us two large fillets and I cooked them for dinner the other night. I had never cooked fish by myself before so I had to Google a recipe to use. I found one that looked good, but I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so I just used the ones I did have and sort of improvised. It ended up being so delicious that even my husband, who doesn’t like the fishy taste of seafood, liked it! (I later learned from my mom that the fishy taste is not really found in freshly caught fish! Score!)
So here’s the recipe I used and how I made our meal:

4 tbsp butter
1/4 cup lemon juice
Salt
Pepper
Minced garlic
1 1/4 cup Organicville’s Olive Oil and Balsamic gluten free salad dressing
2 large redfish fillets – cut in half

Melt butter in 11″ frying pan with lemon juice.  Add redfish fillets and sprinkle on salt, pepper, and minced garlic.  Blacken (to your liking) both sides of fillets on medium high heat.  When butter/lemon juice has simmered down, add salad dressing.  Flip fillets so that both sides get an approx. equal amount of time in the mix.

Some of the salad dressing mix will be left in the pan when it is done cooking.  Drizzle over rice/fish on dinner plates.  Would be good with mixed veggies, too!
(*If fish are caught fresh from the ocean, watch out for little fish bones!  There were some in my piece but I was able to avoid swallowing them!)
Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten-Free Recipes

Leave a Reply

