Homemade Liquid Handsoap – Experiment

Loosely following the directions on Jillee’s post, I experimented with making my own homemade liquid handsoap.  Here’s what I did. DSC00713DSC00709

  • 2 bars of soap, grated using my new restaurant cheese grater (filled one whole quart-sized mason jar).  I had to cut them in half to get them to fit in the cheese grater, but it was so much easier than hand grating them!
  • 10 cups of filtered water (filtered through my Brita water pitcher)
  • 30 drops of 100% Pure Lavender Essential Oil per mason jar

Once the soap was grated, I measured out 10 cups of water (I only had a pot big enough for 10 cups available).
As the water was heating up on the stove, I stirred in the grated soap and continued stirring it until it was completely dissolved.  It only took a few minutes…maybe 20 at the most.  I never let it boil…I kept the heat around medium, then when it was hot to the touch, I poured the soap mix into 3 quart-sized mason jars and left them to cool overnight (24 hours, to be precise, as per Jillee’s recommendation).  At 4pm today, I opened the jars and put 30 drops of Lavender Essential Oil in each mason jar and used a whisk to mix the soap.  It was firm, like jelly, at first, but became like a thick milkshake at the end.  Boy, does it smell good!

DSC00710DSC00711DSC00712

NOTE:  The color came out white like Jillee’s because I used white bar soap that my husband bought (which actually had its own “clean” smell already infused).  I don’t remember which brand they were or what size each bar was, but I estimate that they were rough 4 ozs each (which is why I used 2, as Jillee’s recipe calls for 8ozs of soap per 1 gallon of water).  Next time I will try to find unscented soap and keep track of their weight, and try to make a larger batch with them.  But I am very satisfied with what I came up with this time around, and hopefully my husband likes it, too!

3 Comments

Filed under Household

3 responses to “Homemade Liquid Handsoap – Experiment

  1. Must Have Boxes

    So fun! I totally want to try making my own soap.
    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. I’ve made my liquid laundry soap this way, but I haven’t tried hand soap. It sounds great!

  3. It’s impressive that you are getting ideas from this post as well as from our
    dialogue made here.

Leave a Reply

